Home Tipp City News Council Delays Tax Code Revisions
Council Delays Tax Code Revisions PDF Print E-mail
Written by Nancy Bowman   
Wednesday, 16 January 2013 00:00

A final review of proposed Tipp City tax code revisions was delayed again Jan. 7 to allow time for city administrators to answer several questions raised by Councilman Joe Gibson.
Council also received updated information at the Jan. 7 meeting on the 2013 aquatic center schedule following a miscalculation of days of operation. And, it made its annual appointments to boards and commissions.
Just prior to the meeting, Gibson distributed a two-page memo containing questions about the proposed tax code changes.
The proposals, including more attention to collections, followed a review of the income tax operations last year by Clark, Schaefer, Hackett & Co. of Springfield.
Gibson said the questions “could be nothing. I think that is all it is … I think most of this is just a matter of Mr. Green and Mr. Caldwell explaining.”
City Manager Jon Crusey said staff had not seen the questions so the recommendation was to move the topic to council’s next meeting, Jan. 22. A list of answers to the questions was sent to council members Jan. 11.
Crusey updated council on the 2013 calendar for the Tippecanoe Family Aquatic Center following discussions with operators Dayton Pool Management
Crusey said a review of the calendar showed an 84-day schedule Memorial Day Weekend, the weekend of June 1 and 2 and then June 8 –Aug 25 with school starting Aug. 27. The contract cost is the same as discussed previously at $314,549.
Council’s appointments for the year were as follows:
Board of Tax Appeals: Robert Blakey, Diane Koehler
Restoration Board: Ralph Brown. Karen Kuziensky, Joel Gruber and Nancy Cox (partial term)
Tree Board: Thomas DeRoss
Economic Development Committee: Katelyn Berbach, Dee Gillis, John Kessler, Jon Crusey, John Green and Brad Vath
Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission (MVRPC): Dee Gills and Mike McDermott (alternate)
MVRPC Technical Advisory Committee: Scott Vagedes, Brad Vath
Tipp Monroe Community Services Advisory Board: John Kessler, Joe Gibson
Tipp City Tax Incentive Review Council: John Green, Brad Vath
Tipp Improvement Corporation Board: All council members, Jon Crusey, David Caldwell, John Green, Christy Butera
Tipp Monroe Education Fund DARE Advisory Board: Katelyn Berbach
Ohio Municipal Electric Association: Pat Hale, Christy Butera
Downtown Tipp City Partnership: Bryan Budding, Jon Crusey
Miami County Council: Joe Gibson.

Comments (0)

Joomla templates by a4joomla